Frequent question: What are the three ecological zones in Zambia?

How many zones are there in Zambia?

Contexts in source publication

Ecologically, Zambia is divided into three agro-ecological zones (Fig. 1). Both the Eastern and Southern provinces fall into agro-ecological zones 1 and 2a. Zone 1 is characterised by the hottest (40°C) and driest (600 mm) annual conditions.

What is meant by agro-ecological zone?

Abstract. An agroecological zone (AEZ) is a land resource mapping unit, defined in terms of climate, landform, and soils, and has a specific range of potentials and constraints for cropping (FAO, 1996).

Where is sorghum grown in Zambia?

As of 2018, sorghum area in Southern was 16,600 ha that accounts for 51.38% of Zambia’s sorghum area. The top 5 regions (others are Western, Muchinga, North-Western, and Central) account for 96.55% of it. Zambia’s total sorghum area was estimated at 32,308 ha in 2018.

What are the five types of farming practiced in Zambia?

1) Farming systems identified:

  • Millet-dominated system in combination with maize, sorghum and groundnuts (Chana area)
  • Mixed maize and sorghum system (Mambwe area)
  • Maize dominated system (Petauke)
  • Sorghum dominated system (Nyamaluma)
  • Maize dominated system (Msoro)
  • Mixed sorghum and maize system (Nyamaluma and Msoro).

What are ecological zones?

An ecological zone is a landscape unit that unites certain interrelated animal and plant communities (biocenosis) with a particular social formation and environmental conditions as part of an integrated system. The definition of an ecological [Page 844]zone relies on flexible criteria.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What is forestry and wildlife?

What are the three zones of Bhutan?

Bhutan is divided into three (Himalayan, temperate, and subtropical) altitudinal regions. The Himalayan region is a distinct bio-geographic zone lying above 4,500 meters altitude.

What are some examples of typical ecological zones?


Ecozone Area (Mkm2) Precipitation (mm/yr)
Polar-Subpolar (ice deserts, tundra) 22.0 100–250
Boreal (lichens, coniferous forests) 19.5 250–500
Temperate Midlatitudes (woodlands, forests) 14.5 500–1000
Dry Midlatitudes (grass steppes, semideserts) 16.5 < 400