How many climate zones are there in NZ?

New Zealand is divided into three zones, based on average temperature data, for NZ Building Code Acceptable Solution H1/AS1 Energy efficiency.

How many climate zones are in New Zealand?

Figures are available for simple performance upgrades in nine regional climate zones: Auckland, Hamilton, Tauranga, Napier, Wellington, Nelson, Christchurch, Dunedin and Invercargill. When designing a new home, some simple upgrades can improve its performance.

How many climates are in New Zealand?

Temperature. New Zealand has a largely temperate climate. While the far north has subtropical weather during summer, and inland alpine areas of the South Island can be as cold as – 10°C in winter, most of the country lies close to the coast, which means mild temperatures, moderate rainfall, and abundant sunshine.

What type of climate zone does New Zealand have?

Most regions of New Zealand belong to the temperate zone with a maritime climate (Köppen climate classification: Cfb) characterised by four distinct seasons.

What are the 7 climate zones?

Climate Zones

  • A – Tropical Climates. Tropical moist climates extend north and south from the equator to about 15° to 25° latitude. …
  • B – Dry Climates. …
  • C – Moist Subtropical Mid-Latitude Climates. …
  • D – Moist Continental Mid-Latitude Climates. …
  • E – Polar Climates. …
  • H – Highlands.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Are cooking oil bottles recyclable?

Where is Climate Zone 4?

Zone 4 – most of southern central Australia from the Western Australian coastal hinterland across most of inland South Australia, inland New South Wales and inland Victoria, encompassing Yalgoo, Warburton, Coober Pedy, Whyalla, Broken Hill, Mildura, Bourke, Tamworth, and Albury-Wodonga.

What climate zone is Auckland?

At latitude 36º 51′ S, Auckland lies in a transition zone between subtropical and temperate. Its climate is warm and moderately wet, with few frosts and virtually no snow. In summer the average daily maximum temperature is 24º C.

What climate zone is Christchurch?

List of Hardiness Zones for Locations in New Zealand

Location Hardiness Zone
Cambridge Zone 10a: -1.1°C to 1.7°C
Christchurch Zone 9a: -6.7°C to -3.9°C
Dunedin Zone 10b: 1.7°C to 4.4°C
Feilding Zone 9b: -3.9°C to -1.1°C

Does New Zealand have 4 seasons?

Just like in your country, New Zealand has 4 seasons. The only difference is that each season is in different months then you’re used to back home. And the weather is definitely different. As you may know, you can even have 4 seasons in one day in New Zealand.

Does New Zealand snow?

Most snow in New Zealand falls in the mountain areas. Snow rarely falls in the coastal areas of the North Island and west of the South Island, although the east and south of the South Island may experience some snow in winter.

Where is the best climate in New Zealand?

Kaitaia and Whangarei top the list with an annual average of almost 16C. Auckland is also up there, with an average of just over 15C. Wellington is known as the country’s windy city, and is among the windiest in the world.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What are the main components of a system Environmental Science?

What is the weather in New Zealand year round?

New Zealand has a largely temperate climate. … The north of New Zealand is subtropical and the south temperate. The warmest months are December, January and February, and the coldest June, July and August. In summer, the average maximum temperature ranges between 20 – 30ºC and in winter between 10 – 15ºC.

Where is the coldest place in New Zealand?

Ophir, in the south of New Zealand, is a tiny town which held the record for the country’s lowest temperature. On July 3rd, 1995, a low of -21.6C broke the previous record, also held by Ophir (since then the records have been revised – see update below).